Hwy 61 Roadhouse~ St. Louis, MO

This is my all time favorite restaurant to dine at in St. Louis, but the entree that I pick is a bit on the expensive side, so we’ve only been there three times. Once when we first moved here 4 years ago, once with my sister, and once for my birthday. All of the food pictures in this post were taken when I went with my sister, but the outdoor seating pictures were taken when we went for my birthday, as that’s the time we ate outside!

Hwy 61 Roadhouse is located in the quaint suburb of Webster Groves. It’s a bit off the beaten path even though you can see Interstate 44 from the restaurant. Hwy 61 has been featured on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives and you can even order the sampler platter they used when filming the show.

If you chose to visit Hwy 61, keep in mind that all of their food has a Cajun flair to it. When my sister and I visited we sat inside. The decor is eclectic: a nice mix of Mardi Gras/New Orleans meets St. Louis legends (or Hwy 61 legends for that matter.) They have seating on two levels. We were seated on the upper level as there was a trivia contest happening when we where there on the lower level that we didn’t choose to take part in.

Since I’d been here before, I quickly knew that I would be ordering the Medallions of Blackened Beef which come topped with Cajun seasoning and a sauce of your choice, I picked the Gorgonzola Cheese. I also got two sides, one Mac and Cheese and one Brabant Potatoes. My sister ordered the Cajun sampler, choosing to have the Gumbo, Etouffee, and Jambalaya.

I know, It doesn’t look that exciting on the plates, but the food is so super good! My sister claims it’s the best Cajun she’s had, and she’s had Cajun food from quite a few places!

As I said, we returned here for my birthday. When we did we sat outside on the patio, which was really nice. I also noticed on the way in that they have a sign advertising for a Sunday Brunch. I think it would be very interesting to try that at some point!

In my opinion, this is a “Do Not Miss” Restaurant in the St. Louis area! The atmosphere is fun and the food is absolutely delicious!

Following along in real time by following sitesandbitesjournal on Instagram! Plus sign up to get e-mail updates for new posts on this blog!

Leave a comment